Waiting For You

Written by Mark O’Leary (member of Balally Players)
Directed by Aisling Uí Laoire
Performed in: dlr Mill Theatre 30 October to 2 November 2019 and on the One Act Drama Circuit.

Waiting For You
Some of the characters who appear in the doctor's waiting room in 'Waiting For You'
This montage is from a wider selection of photos by Declan Brennan available here.


Written by Balally Players member, Mark O’Leary, Waiting For You is a one-act play that tells the story of two strangers who meet in a doctor’s waiting room, both unhappy with the directions in which their lives are heading. Through their interactions with each other, as well as with their eccentric fellow patients, they both leave with a different outlook on life.

Waiting For You was Balally Players' entry in the 2019 National One Act Festival and performed again on Saturday 7 March 2020 at Ballincollig GAA Club. The play achieved the following results and nominations at the preliminary festivals.

Moat Club Naas One Act Drama Festival

  • Won Audience Award for Most Entertaining Play and Most Promising Actor (Hilary Madigan)
  • Nominated for Most Promising Actor (Óran O’Rua), Best Actress (Máirín O'Sullivan) and for Backstage Excellence (Pat Hand and Una Twyford)

Skerries One Act Drama Festival

  • Won Best Director (Aisling Uí Laoire) and Best Actor (Óran O’Rua)
  • 3rd place

Carrigallen One Act Drama Festival

  • Won Best Actress (Máirín O’Sullivan)
  • Nominated for Best Actress (Hilary Madigan) and Best Actor (Óran O’Rua)
  • 3rd place

Coolgreany One Act Drama Festival

  • Won the Audience Award for Best Play, Best Supporting Actor (Brendan Phelan), Adjudicator’s Award (Aisling Uí Laoire)
  • Nominated for Best Director (Aisling Uí Laoire)
  • 2nd place


  • Won Best Director (Aisling Uí Laoire)
  • 1st place
3 One Act PlaysBalally Players presented the three one-act plays over fours nights in October and November 2019

Waiting For You was first presented over four nights by Balally Players from 30 October to 2 November 2019 as part of an Evening of One Act Plays, which brought together three excellent shows, including two original works by members of the group.

 The other two plays were:
 - I'm Not Laughing, I'm Screaming
    written by Sandy Taylor and directed by Lorcan Dunne
 - Soldier Field
    written and directed by Pat McCarry

The 1-Act Festival Circuit is run jointly by the Drama League of Ireland and the Amateur Drama Council of Ireland.

Each preliminary festival has a professional adjudicator who marks each play under the headings; Direction, Acting, Presentation, Overall achievement. The festivals are run on a league basis with marks awarded for 1st, 2nd & 3rd placings and the top groups in each competition qualify for the All-Ireland finals.

There is a Confined & Open competition within each festival. The Open Competition is for groups with significant experience The Confined Competition is for newer groups/ more inexperienced groups/ smaller groups/groups with less resources. A group decides which competition level to enter, however when a group wins the All-Ireland Confined competition they must then move to the Open competition.


Cast for 'Waiting For You'
Máirín O’Sullivan
Óran O'Rua
Brendan Phelan
Hilary Madigan
Amy MacCarthy
Production Team for 'Waiting For You'
Stage Manager
Aisling Uí Laoire
Patrick Hand
Mark O'Leary
Aisling Uí Laoire, Brendan O’Sullivan
and David Walsh
Dympna Murray
Patrick Hand
Una Twyford
SmugMug link
To download images, click on the SmugMug logo above to open the Gallery in a new window.
Photographs taken by Declan Brennan at the Dress Rehearsal.


Manorhamilton – First Place and Best Director – a fitting end to a great run

A win in ManorhamiltonThe cast of 'The Flattering Word'
A 1st in Manorhamiltion for Waiting for You (l-r) Óran O'Rua, Mark O'Leary (writer), Aisling Uí Laoire (director), Hilary Madigan and Joanne Keane (Chairman of Balally Players)


Back to Productions page
Top of this page