Written by Oscar Wilde
Directed by Gary Wall

Performed in: dlr Mill Theatre and on the One-Act Circuit in the second half of 2023

On Monday 27 November 2023, Balally Players presented a performance of 'Salome' in dlr Mill Theatre. The play, written by Oscar Wilde and directed by Gary Wall, qualified for the ADCI/DLI All Ireland One Act Finals.

'Salome' was presented onthat evening together with another opportunity to see 'Dead Man's Bells' by Méabh De Brun and directed by Joanne Keane. That play was performed with another one act play, 'Autobahn' by Neil Labute and directed by Brian Molloy in dlr Mill Theatre Studio from 24 to 28 October 2023. More information about those two plays is availibale here.



'Salome' is Oscar Wilde's twist on the biblical story of Herod, Herodias and Salome. This richly worded story with flamboyant imagery, tells of a lovely young girl Salome, her step-father Herod's obsession with her, and Salome's infatuation with the prophet John the Baptist (Jokanaan). What price will Herod pay to watch the dance of the seven veils? Lusted after by one powerful man and rejected by another, a young woman avenges herself … setting up a deadly chain of events!

Balally Players entered 'Salome' into the 2023 One-Act Drama Competition and the paly qualified for the ADCI/DLI All Ireland One Act Finals in Castleblayney (1 to 3 December 2023).

poster for One-Act Finals in Castleblayney (2023)


Castleblayney Drama Festival

Full list of Winners

Open Winners:

1st:Prosperous Dramatic Society.
2nd: Butt Drama Circle.
3rd: Bunclody Kilmyshall Drama Group.

Confined Winners:

The Ray Leonard Players. 2nd: New Ross Drama Workshop.
3rd: Lucan Drama.

Best Female Performance, Open: Cyrena Hayes, Prosperous.

Best Male Performance, Open: David Walsh, Balally.

Best Female Performance, Confined: Vera Kilgallon, The Ray Leonard Players.

Best Male Performance, Confined: Robert Holden, The Ray Leonard Players.


ADCI/DLI Scholarship: Marianne Bradley, Lucan.

Adjudicator's Awards: Balally Players and Elaine Birkett, Hoodwink Productions.

Innovation & Creativity Award: Butt Drama Circle.

Back to Productions page
Top of this page